A letter to my 16 year old self- Love yourself and the rest will follow. 

​I know, I know. So cliché, writing a letter to my younger self. But I promise you will love this and get to know me a little bit more in the bargain. I hadn’t really selected a particular age to talk to until now, mainly because my life has always had some form of drama and turbulence in it but after so much thinking I finally settled on the sweet age of 16. 16 because I was going through so much  then and it was a genuinely overwhelming time in my life. So here goes nothing! 

Hey Ry, 

It’s me, your 24 year old sexy self. I, rather you, wait… I mean we…  whatever. We made it! You must be wondering why I chose to talk to you, right? Well, I know what you’re going through and if by some interstellar magic you somehow get this letter, I hope you listen to what I got for you because it is the bomb, man! 

Rydell, oh Rydell. As I look at you, I see all the mistakes just waiting to happen. Those bad haircuts, the time you back answered the teacher who would make the rest of your college year miserable and even that horrible person you are friends with right now that you won’t cut out sooner because you’re afraid to be alone. While I’d love to hand you the cheat sheet to life, I know you aren’t ready for it and in time you will realize that experience is and always will be your biggest friend, so no! You lazy cow, I am not going to hand you shit. But because in my infinite kindness and wisdom, I will leave you with some pointers that will give you the courage that is needed for life ahead and the troubles you will come across. 

You turn out pretty hot, so don’t let them tell you otherwise.

In my first pointer, Rydell,  you need to believe in yourself. I know the very first pointer seems like a big step but it is so important that it has to come first place. I know the many times when you wanted to write or go join a dance class, which by the way works out so fucking well for you, just saying or when you wanted to stand up in class and answer a question but you didn’t. You didn’t because you were so afraid of people laughing at your grammar, you were so afraid that you would be teased and taunted for those hip rolls and you were afraid that you would have said the wrong answer out loud and everyone would have laughed. Rydell, oh sweet Rydell, I’m very proud to tell you that these people will laugh at your grammar, you will fucking be teased so much for the way you dance and oh my god you will have a boss one day that will taunt you for a supposed ‘wrong answer’.  My advice to you is let them!  Just fucking let them. Rydell, you will become a Social media executive and a content writer one day. You will write so many beautiful articles and so many people will pay you money for your work. Rydell, dance! Dance so much that your legs hurt and your neck can’t turn. Dance is going to change your life. You will be shaped into the person you are because of it and it will be the best money you’ve ever spent(P.S This is coming out of your allowance but it’s worth it, OK?). As for saying the wrong answer, BRO you shout it out with pride. You attempted something good and so what if those ignorant idiots laughed? There will be a point and trust me on this, that they will come to you for answers and you will be so happy to give it t them. 

Well lookie here. I told you you would be awesome at it.

The second pointer is for you to listen to Mom. Yes, sometimes she is crazy and crosses the line but don’t you? She is human but will prove to be the best friend you ever had. She will gossip with you every morning and even realize that you share the same views on certain things. Of course, she may have her stubborn ways and will say things that will hurt you but then again as would any best friend. Be strong, Rydell. She didn’t raise you to be a crab but a lion.

One of the many mornings to come

The last pointer that I want to share with you is not going to be a serious one but more of a chilled scene. Mainly because I look at my 24 year old self and see how amazing I am, although I don’t always believe that.  Rydell, you are going to get 8 people that are going to be there in you life. I won’t tell you who but I’ll tell you what to look out for in them. Look out for those 3 amazing people who will always be by your side when life kicks you hard. You will find that apart from being party animals, they are beautiful souls who are on the same path as you and will keep you company through lifes many troubles. Also for God sakes, two of them love this weird ass song called ‘hunter’ and they will dance so weirdly to it that it will make you question sanity. Haha. Rydell, look out for this one guy who will keep you entertained. He will hear about all the heart breaks and will go on those hunts for dinner while in Goa, but most of all he will give you new Anime that is the bomb. Next person, look out for a woman who is strong and will be a role model to you. There will also be a girl who you love and will always love so much. You must take care of her and be there when she needs you, Rydell. Bro, you are going to get a 4 legged friend. I know it sounds impossible now but she is not yet born, to be honest I don’t think her mother is born too at this point. Take care of this monster because you’re all she has and she will love you like there is no tomorrow. Ryderman, (yes, you’re still called that.) there will be one last person who will be in your life. He is kind at heart and he will redefine who you are and what you will be,  you will be a better human being because of him. Also, don’t punch me for what comes ahead with this one. Haha. 

You’re going to need this, just saying.

Thanks Rydell for listening to me. I hope this letter gets to you on the day you wanted to take the shortcut to the ground floor because it seemed just too much. All those days you spent tearing up and crying will be looked back by you and laughed at. You are so strong and so ferocious that you will conquer it all. Don’t worry Rydell, you fucking got this. 

Hoping to always love you/me, 

Rydell Fernandes.  

3 thoughts on “A letter to my 16 year old self- Love yourself and the rest will follow. 

  1. This article promises a great start to the day for me. There’s so much motivation and a very important reminder that’s surely gonna enlighten faces. Also, you have written yourself a letter in the best possible way. Never let the words fall short! 😊

    Like

      • That’s indeed very sweet of you. I do not own a facebook profile. I, however have an instagram page and a facebook page by my name. I’ll find you out on instagram mostly and revert soon. Stay blessed. 😊

        Like

Leave a comment